CAEC Awards Bright Ideas Grants

Exploring our microscopic worlds and space through virtual reality; remotely monitoring environmental conditions through student-built sensors; and utilizing interactive software to help students learn to read music are just a few of the exceptional experiences area students will explore thanks to funding from the Bright Ideas Grant Program, sponsored by Central Alabama Electric Cooperative (CAEC).

Teachers, students and area schools were awarded $24,000 in grants to benefit more than 6,500 students across multiple counties through CAEC’s educational grant program. Grant proposals  were submitted during the last quarter of 2018 and were evaluated by a panel of judges from local community associations.

The Bright Ideas Grant Program was introduced 20 years ago with the goal of supporting innovative, interesting and effective initiatives that are not usually covered by school funding. Grants are intended to help enhance teachers’ efforts, and are awarded to individuals or teams in public, private and home schools within CAEC’s service area.

“Since the inception of this program in 1998, we have seen a variety of grants and proposals that creative and dedicated educators have sought to bring to their classrooms to enhance their students’ education,” said CAEC President and CEO Tom Stackhouse. “And while the projects may have changed, the cooperative’s dedication of providing assistance to our educators, who work with students and impact them in such positive ways, has not wavered.”

To date, CAEC has awarded approximately $328,000 to local schools through the program. More than 124,000 students in all grade levels and subject areas have benefited from the Bright Ideas grants. More details on the program a can be found here.


Autauga County teachers and their teams receiving a 2019 grant are: Megan Anglin, Pine Level Elementary School; Benjamin Brown, Autaugaville School; Spring Bruner, and Taylor Reed, Marbury Middle School; Anika Chrishon and Anita McGhee, New Hope Academy; Cheryl Cook, Rachelle Agin, Seana Belser, Laura Fennell, Marie Lachance, Chelsea Guerin, Jeff Stockman and Christen Harry of Pine Level Elementary School; Whitney Drumheller, Dr. Amanda Gonzales-Jackson, Christine Prescott and Blythe Smith, Prattville Junior High School; Emily Gregory, Pine Level Elementary; Dr. Janie Jones, Jessica Lucas, Charles Thompson, Rebecca Cole and Melissa Strickland of Prattville Junior High School; Carolyn Lee and Amanda Ennis of  Autaugaville School; Leisa Lee of Marbury High School; Jamie Ramsey of Autauga County Second Chance Program; and Marolyn Robbins, LeAnn Jones, Dawn Wendland, Cheryl Durbin, Emily Little, Michelle Bramblett, Hannah Humphries, Rachel Pigg and Megan Luke of Autauga Academy.


Chilton County teachers and their teams receiving a 2019 grant are: Aimee Dobbs and Allyson Welborn of Clanton Middle School; Donna Harmon of Jemison Elementary School; Pam Harmon of Chilton Christian Academy; Jay LeCroy, Nelda LeCroy and Jason Sosa of STEM Academy at LeCroy Career Technical Center; Jill Moatts of Clanton Intermediate School; Stacey Pierce, Tammy Price, Nicole Hoffman and Rachel Mims of the Chilton County Gifted Program; and Macey Thompson of Jemison Elementary School.


Elmore County teachers and their teams receiving a 2019 grant are: Jennifer Crain of Tallassee High School; Kimberly Deem of Wetumpka Elementary School; Jeannie Garrett, LaKeisha Ray, John Hilbish and Marlena Snelick of Elmore County High School; Angela Miller, Heather Ernest, Tim Horton, Whitney Patterson and Josh Taylor of Southside Middle School; Misty Trussell of Redland Elementary School; and Wanda Young, Lisa Smith, Kim Crowder and Haley Barnes of Stanhope Elmore High School.