Washington Youth Tour Delegates Selected

Three local high school juniors will serve as representatives for Central Alabama Electric Cooperative (CAEC) as they travel to Washington, D.C., June 9-15, to participate in the National Rural Electric

Cooperative Association (NRECA) Washington Youth Tour program.

Wesley Jackson Dean, Elmore County High School; Allison Flowers, Chapman Christian Academy; and Colbey Thornton, Prattville High School; were selected Monday, April 17, to serve as the cooperative’s Washington Youth Tour/Youth Leadership Program delegates. They will be representing CAEC among 1,500 high school juniors from cooperatives across the country.

Dean, Flowers and Thornton will have the unique opportunity to learn more about leadership skills, the growing importance of political action and the cooperative bus

CAEC President and CEO Tom Stackhouse with the 2017 Washington Youth Tour Delegates Colbey Thornton, Jackson Dean and Allison Flowers.

iness model while visiting historic sites and government offices. Flowers was also selected as one of three Youth Leadership Council (YLC) finalists. If selected as Alabama’s YLC representative, Flowers will represent that state on the national Youth Tour council as well as during the NRECA Annual Meeting. The Alabama YLC position is voted on by fellow Washington Youth Tour delegates from the state’s cooperatives.

The three Washington delegates had previously qualified to participate in the Alabama Rural Electric Association’s (AREA) Youth Tour in Montgomery held on March 7-9. Three additional students had also qualified for the AREA Montgomery Youth Tour: Emma Hardin, Alabama Christian Academy; Matthew Harrison, Ezekiel Academy; and Samantha Pugh, Prattville High School. While in Montgomery the six students participated in learning and leadership opportunities provided through the program.

The Washington, D.C. winners were selected based on an application, an interview process and their demonstration of leadership skills.